Skip to main content

National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC)


The National Pan-Hellenic Council, Incorporated (NPHC) is currently composed of nine (9) International Greek letter Sororities and Fraternities. NPHC promotes interaction through forums, meetings and other mediums for the exchange of information and engages in cooperative programming and initiatives through various activities and functions.


Syracuse University is home to 7 NPHC Chapters: 

Alpha Kappa Alpha



Alpha Kappa Alpha's National Website 

Alpha Kappa Alpha was founded on the campus of Howard University in Washington, DC in 1908. Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority is the oldest Greek-letter organization established by African American college-trained women.

The small group of women who organized the Sorority was conscious of a privileged position as college-trained women of color, just one generation removed from slavery. They were resolute that their college experiences should be as meaningful and productive as possible. Alpha Kappa Alpha was founded to apply that determination.

As the Sorority grew, it kept in balance two important themes: the importance of the individual and the strength of an organization of women of ability and courage. As the world became more complex, there was a need for associations which cut across racial, geographical, political, physical and social barriers. Alpha Kappa Alpha's influence extends beyond campus quads and student interest. It has a legacy of service that deepens, rather than ends, with college graduation.

Iota Upsilon, located in Syracuse, NY, is apart of the “GREAT GREAT Lakes Region” under the leadership of Great Lakes Regional Director, Toni Kendrick. Chartered on May 9, 1975 on the campus of Syracuse University, Iota Upsilon continues to foster what our beloved sorority was founded upon. Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, symbolizes a lifelong commitment of perpetual bonds with college educated women inspired to implement worldwide change through innovative acts of service. Sorors of Iota Upsilon work as an organization of unified women dedicated to higher education, timeless service, and the success of young girls and women.

Alpha Phi Alpha



Alpha Phi Alpha's National Website

Since it's founding on December 4, 1906, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. has supplied voice and vision to the struggle of African-Americans and people of color around the world. Alpha Phi Alpha, the first intercollegiate Greek-letter fraternity established for African-Americans, was founded at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York by seven college men who recognized the need for a strong bond of Brotherhood among African descendants in this country. The visionary founders, known as the Jewels of the Fraternity, are Henry Arthur Callis, Charles Henry Chapman, Eugene Kinckle Jones, George Biddle Kelley, Nathaniel Allison Murray, Robert Harold Ogle, and Vertner Woodson Tandy. The Fraternity initially served as a study and support group for minority students who faced racial prejudice, both educationally and socially, at Cornell. The Jewel founders and early leaders of the Fraternity succeeded in laying a firm foundation for Alpha Phi Alpha's principles of scholarship, fellowship, good character, and the uplifting of humanity. Alpha Phi Alpha chapters were established at other colleges and universities, many of them historically black institutions, soon after the founding at Cornell. The first Alumni Chapter was established in 1911. While continuing to stress academic excellence among its members, Alpha also recognized the need to help correct the educational, economic, political, and social injustices faced by African-Americans. Alpha Phi Alpha has long stood at the forefront of the African-American community's fight for civil rights through leaders such as: W.E.B. DuBois, Adam Clayton Powell, Jr., Edward Brooke, Martin Luther King, Jr., Thurgood Marshall, Andrew Young, William Gray, Paul Robeson, and many others. True to its form as the first of firsts, Alpha Phi Alpha has been interracial since 1945. 

Delta Sigma Theta



Kappa Alpha Psi



Kappa Alpha Psi's National Website

Kappa Alpha Psi , a college Fraternity, now comprised of functioning Undergraduate and Alumni Chapters on major campuses and in cities throughout the country, is the crystallization of a dream. It is the beautiful realization of a vision shared commonly by the late Revered Founders Elder Watson Diggs; John Milton Lee; Byron K. Armstrong; Guy Levis Grant; Ezra D. Alexander; Henry T. Asher; Marcus P. Blakemore; Paul W. Caine; Edward G. Irvin and George W. Edmonds.

It was the vision of these astute men that enabled them in the school year 1910 - 11, more specifically the night of January 5, 1911, on the campus of Indiana University at Bloomington, Indiana, to sow the seed of a fraternal tree whose fruit is available to, and now enjoyed by, college men everywhere, regardless of their color, religion or national origin. It is a fact of which KAPPA ALPHA PSI is justly proud that the Constitution has never contained any clause which either excluded or suggested the exclusion of a man from membership merely because of his color, creed, or national origin. The Constitution of KAPPA ALPHA PSI is predicated upon, and dedicated to, the principles of achievement through a truly democratic Fraternity.

Chartered and incorporated originally under the laws of the State of Indiana as Kappa Alpha Nu on May 15, 1911, the name was changed to KAPPA ALPHA PSI on a resolution offered and adopted at the Grand Chapter in December 1914. This change became effective April 15, 1915, on a proclamation by the then Grand Polemarch, Elder Watson Diggs. Thus, the name acquired a distinctive Greek letter symbol and KAPPA ALPHA PSI thereby became a Greek letter Fraternity in every sense of the designation.

Omega Psi Phi



Omega Psi Phi's National Website

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity was founded November 17, 1911 by 3 undergraduate students and their faculty advisor at Howard University. It was the first Historically Black Greek-Letter Fraternal organization to be founded on a historically Black campus. Kappa Chapter was instated on Syracuse University campus February 18, 1922. Stay tuned for events and updates by Kappa chapter as we embark on 96 years of service to the Syracuse University and surrounding communities. 

Phi Beta Sigma



Phi Beta Sigma's National Website

Phi Beta Sigma is a fraternity within the National Pan-Hellenic Council who stand by the ideals of brotherhood, scholarship, and service. 

Sigma Gamma Rho



Sigma Gamma Rho's National Website

Sigma Gamma Rho was established in 1922, in the midst of segregation, at Butler University in Indianapolis by seven young educators. The organization became a national collegiate sorority in December of 1929. It is the mission of Sigma Gamma Rho to enhance the quality of life for women and their families in the U.S. and globally through community service, civil, and social action. The sorority's goal is to achieve greater progress in the areas of education, health awareness, and leadership development. The sorority's members, affiliates, staff, and community parteners work to create and suport initiatives that align with the vision of the organization.